Thursday, Jan. 13, 2005

Life after the Age of 22?

I'm working on my birthday. This is such shit. I know that it's my fault that I'm stuck here today. I'm the one who should have put in a request to have off but the thing is, I forgot about it. Not really forgot, but it seemed to creep up on me this year. So here I am at the office...

When I actually turned 22 last night at twelve am, I was hanging out with Liz. We went to Chris' tattoo shop to say hi and visit for a short while. He said that he would have given me a free piercing for my birthday. I didn't think of it last night, but I should have gotten my nipple pierced again. I loved that piercing. Liz has been talking to Chris again, but she doesn't have the feelings for him that she once did. The inevitable has happened; she's finally over him and I'm happy for her.

It's funny; I don't feel any older, but I can tell. Age is funny like that. My body basically stays the same, so that aspect isn't any different. I think it's the fact of just knowing that you're another year older. I don't like it though. I'm not ancient or old by any means, when I turn 30, I am certain that I'll have some type of break down or go into a depression. Thank goodness that it's eight years away. I'll try my best not to think about it until then. It scares me how quickly time passes us by.

Today feels like any ordinary day instead of my birthday. I'm going through my regular, daily routine. I liked when I was younger and birthdays still seemed special. Hell last year was great, but this year ....I'm not into it.

I haven't gotten any gifts either. My friends and I don't usually give birthday gifts. I don't know why; we just never have. My parents paid a few months of my loan payment for me as my birthday gift. I don't mind. It saves me around $100.00 for the next two months, and it also saves me running to the bank.

Adam told me last night that he will get me my Christmas and birthday gift when he gets caught up on his bills. I completly understand too because he has paid my portion of rent for the past two months as well as my $200.00 parking ticket warrants. Even though I understand, I wish I had a gift to open. I'm probably being selfish.

Does life get better or worse after the age of 22? Someone, please fill me in.

missdahling at 2:40 p.m.