Monday, Feb. 18, 2008

Immobile- Not Anymore

Olivia is mobile now. She is crawling everywhere and she is quick too. She is also able to pull herself into a standing position while holding onto things. Adam and I spent an hour or so child proofing the house; putting all those funny looking gadgets over all the electrical outlets and moving around furniture to hide wires and stuff.

The one day, before we child proofed, I caught her trying to pick up the tv wire. "No, Olivia, I said,"NEVER, EVER touch this. This could hurt you!." Of course she looked at me and smiled because she doesn't understand the word "no" yet.

I am going to get a babygate for the livingroom. I spend most of the day chasing after her. Today, she crawled into the hallway as I followed closely behind her. I said in a playful voice,"Olivia Taylor ....where exactly do you think you're going?" She looked back at me, grinned, then scooted away as fast as she could, into her bedroom. She is only not quite eight months old and already she is trying to get away from her old mom!

Brandon and his baby came over for dinner the other week. His baby is two days younger than Olivia and he does not crawl yet or even sit up on his own. I'm aware of the fact that all babies develop at their own rate, but at almost eight months, shouldn't they be starting to do those things? The baby is with his mom all week and I've heard that she lets him sit in a bouncy seat all day so maybe that is part of it. I don't know.

When Brandon and his baby were here, Olivia was j-e-a-l-o-u-s. She didn't want Ashton playing with her toys, she didn't want me holding, him, etc. When she first saw me holding him, she let out a scream so loud that you would have thought someone was getting murdered. I didn't think the jealousy started this young, but she is very spoiled so that probably has a lot to do with it.

In a few years, I want another kid but I can hardly imagine what it will be like bringing another baby into the house when for so long, it will just have been Adam, Olivia and I. Just seeing how jealous she was with Ashton, I don't think she'd adjust to a brother or sister very easily.

I've been writing this in every entry, but I cannot believe how big she is getting and how much she is learning. I also can't believe that she is almost eight months old. It seems like we just brought her home from the hospital.

Everyday, I try to savor every moment because I know that in a very short time, she will be moving onto another stage in her life. I want to remember what every stage is like, but already, when I think back to when she was a newborn, it is hard for me to remember.

It just seems weird that I used to have to support her neck, get up every two hours to feed her, that I could just sit her in the middle of the bed and know she wasn't going anywhere, etc.

And also, so far, as she is going through all her stages, I think that each one is the very best and don't want her to move onto a new one. When she was newborn, I liked that I could just sit and hold her and that she was so tiny.

Then, I got excited when she could roll over because that was a big accomplishment.

When she could sit up on her own, I liked that I didn't have to hold her all of the time and could sit her on the floor and get a few things done around the house. I remember thinking,"Ok, this is getting easier."

Now that she is crawling, I love it because that is another major accomplishment. I also like that I can sit on the floor with her and play with toys. She loves toys now too. Sometimes, we will play all day and I won't worry about housework that needs done. Not that I leave my house a pigsty, because I don't, but tomorrow is another day, right?

For Valentine's Day, Adam got me a dozen roses and he got Olivia small roses in a cute pot and a card. He wrote on the inside,"Happy first Valentine's Day. Mommy and daddy love you so much. You are the best!" I am keeping that as well as the Valentine's she got from the kids at her daycare.

I never thought I'd be one of those parents who wants to save everything but I am. I am saving her Valentine's and never in a million years, did I ever think I'd do this, because I've always thought it was stupid, but I saved a few pieces of her hair from her first haircut the other week.

Before I was a parent, whenever I heard of people saving the hair from their childs' first haircut, I would think to myself,"What the hell is the point? Who wants to save hair?" But I did it because I finally understand that it is a special event.

Yes, she got her bangs trimmed about three weeks ago because they kept getting in her eyes and she also got the back of her hair trimmed because she was getting what looked like a mullet. There was very thin hair that went down to her shoulders and the rest of the hair was thick so I had the hairdresser cut the back so it would grow even with the rest of her hair. Who ever heard of a seven and a half month old needing a haircut!

Well, it is late for me. I am going to bed. Goodnight.

missdahling at 10:44 pm