Thursday, Jun. 29, 2006

H2O

"Let's check out the river,
I said to Adam as he drove me to work yesterday morning.

As I looked out the passenger seat window, to my right, I saw that the water level was extremely high...higher than I have seen it in a long time. Ahead of me, I could see that the houses along the edge of the river were definitly flooded.

"Holy shit!" I said.

"Yeah, it's just a little high,"Adam said sarcastically.

We drove across the bridge just looking at it and taking it all in. I knew that it had rained an awful lot on Sunday, Monday and Tuesday but didn't stop to think that the water would cause as much damage as it did.

There are so many roads closed that it is an inconvenience to travel. A destination that would normally take you fifteen minutes will now take about an hour. Because of people taking different routes, the traffic is a lot heavier in many places where you would only see a few cars passing by on a typical day.

Tonight on the news it showed houses in a town near mine where people were throwing out their belongings because they were totally destroyed by water. In a lot of cases, peoples' basements and even the downstairs of their houses were ruined.

My dad saw a friend of his in the grocery store last night who had to evacuate his home just like many people in this area were forced to do. He told my dad that there was water higher than his above ground swimming pool lying in his yard. Apparently the water is off of the road where he lives because I had to take Adam to work that way last night but it was dark outside so I didn't take notice to the houses along the way.

They are working on getting the roads cleaned up so they can be reopened, thankfully. In my area, the river has crested. We don't have to worry about it getting any higher. Now, those who were effected have the aftermath to deal with. At least we know it won't get worse unless we get more rain. According to the weather though, they are not calling for any, thank goodness.

My superviser at work told me that her dad called her on Monday when it was pouring down rain and asked her,"Do you think the worlds coming to an end? Rains forty days and forty nights...." She rolled her eyes, shook her head and told him 'No, she didn't think so." She mentioned to me that he had a good jag on while he was talking to her and I laughed at that.

Although I laughed then and made a joke out of what her dad said, while watching the news and really thinking about all the events in the world, I can't help but wonder if the world is slowly coming to an end. There were always and will always be horrible things that happen, but it seems that lately, within the last few years, things have been extremely bad. Think about 9/11, Hurricane Katrina, etc. Perhaps the world isn't coming to an end, but maybe this is just God's way of telling the world to shape up?


missdahling at 9:27 pm