Monday, Feb. 06, 2006

I made it

No matter how hard I try, on the nights where I have to get up early in the morning, I can never, ever fall asleep at a decent time. The reason being is probably because I slept all day yesterday, until around 3 in the afternoon.

I was glad that our friends had decided last week that we weren't going to play cards on Saturday night like usual because everyone was planning on playing card games before the Superbowl started. "Good," I thought. "That means I will get up early on Sunday so that I can fall asleep early that night since I have to be up early to go to my job training." Didn't work out as I had planned, but then again, hardly anything ever does.

Adam and I had a lazy Saturday. We rented three movies that we had never seen before and watched two of them when we got home. By the time they were over it was early evening and there wasn't much else to do. The the weather was getting chilly. The wind was blowing and the temperature had seemed to drop about ten degrees since that afternoon. Neither one of us felt like going out to the bar and really, there isn't anything else to do when you live in a town as small as I do. So, we lounged in bed, trying to decide how we were going to spend the rest of our evening when my phone rang. It turned out that everyone had decided to play cards afterall. Problem solved; Adam and I had plans.

Although I was hesitant to play cards due to the fact that I didn't have a whole lot of money, I was just so bored that I didn't care. "If we lose,"I said to Adam,"then we won't play more than one game." At the most, we would lose twenty dollars, and big deal, we spent money on stupider things in the past.

Amazingly, I was showered, dressed, and ready to go within thirty minutes. I rushed around to get ready so that we would be there in time for the start of the game. As it turned out, I had a lot of room to spare. For twenty minutes, Adam and I sat around and talked to everyone and watched the remaining players finish their card game. I hate watching a game because I'd rather be playing, but it beat sitting at home.

In the end, I was glad that we had made the choice to go because Adam and I were sixty dollars ahead by the end of the night. In the first game that we played, he took first place, winning sixty dollars and I placed second, winning forty dollars. We then played another game but neither of us placed at all. I didn't mind though because we still left with more money than we came with.

With my forty dollars, I went to the laundromat the next day and did two loads of wash. While my clothes were drying, I went to the grocery store and bought some snack foods for me to take with me to eat in the hotel this week. I shouldn't have even bothered because I forgot them at home anyway. I knew I'd forget something. Oh well, I'll just buy more snacks here and keep the receipts so the company can pay for the expenses.

Once my laundry was finished, the Superbowl had just started. Instead of going to the Superbowl party Adam and I had been invited to, I went home and packed my suitcase and got what I could ready to take with me. Shortly after I had gotten done doing all of that, Adam called from work saying that he would be home soon. If he would have wanted to go to the party I would have gone, but he was also tired and just felt like staying in.

We did stop by our friend Zach's house briefly, but the game was at half time and Zach and his friends were playing Xbox, having a shuffleboard tournament. I did not watch any of the Superbowl, but I did watch one hell of a shuffleboard tournament. I know, I'm a loser.

Oh, and besides watching shuffleboard, Adam and I played scrabble when we got home. Don't laugh, but it was so fun! I hadn't played it for such a long time. It was a close game too, but I ended up winning by just five points.

I had tried to go to sleep around midnight so I would at least get five and a half hours of sleep, but the movie we were watching was just getting good, so I layed there listening to it for awhile. Then finally I knew I wasn't going to sleep so I sat up and watched the very end of it. If I would have known I wasn't going to be able to fall asleep right away I would have just watched the whole thing in the first place. I guess I should have known. Like I said, I can never fall asleep on nights where I have to get up early.

When I woke up this morning after my three hours of sleep, I was wide awake actually so I was happy about that. All of my fears about getting lost on the way to training which is two hours away was set aside once I got on the road. I didn't get lost at all, thank god. I did however have trouble finding the room where my training was being held. The bank is actually really big and I wandered around like a lost puppy for about ten minutes until I finally went and asked someone where I was supposed to be.

The seven hours that I was in training went by quickly. They gave us a lot of breaks and one hour for lunch. I am the only one in my class who traveled. Everyone else is from this town or a surrounding town. I am glad that my first day is over and that I am here and settled in. I really miss Adam, but he will hopefully be coming here one night to visit me. I look forward to that and I look forward to Friday after class when I get to go home for the weekend.

missdahling at 5:32 pm