Monday, Nov. 28, 2005

Thanksgiving

Whenever the holidays are near it seems as though they go as quickly as they come. Thanksgiving was no exception. I cannot believe it's over already. Now everyone is getting ready for Christmas which is only one month away. That's even harder to believe. One month !!! AAHHH!!!

My thanksgiving was not exciting, but a good one anyways. My mother made Thanksgiving dinner on Thanksgiving eve instead because she had to work from midnight until seven in the morning. Usually on holidays we have family over, but since it was the night before, it was only my immediate family which consists of me, my two sisters; Megan and Madison, and my mom and dad. Even though it was only the five of us, it was really nice. We had candles lit on the table and ate turkey with all the trimmings. We had pumpkin pie and coconut custard for dessert. All of the food my mom made was delicious. I made plates to take home for Adam and I to eat later too.

I know I've mentioned it before, but my grandmother now lives in a nursing home and still has a broken ankle. She cannot put any weight on her foot whatsoever so sad so say, she is basically confined to the nursing home until it heals fully. Instead of her coming to us for Thanksgiving, we went to her. The staff at the nursing home had dinner set up in the dining hall for residents' families who wanted to eat there. It was a buffet of turkey, a stuffed pork chop, mashed potatoes, corn and pumpkin pie. The dinner was alright. It was not as good as a home cooked meal, but I know that it made my grandmother happy to have us all there.

Immediatly after I ate there, Adam and I went to his grandparents' house to eat dinner again except that I was so full I could barely eat anything. Adam was in a foul mood so we didn't stay very long to visit with his family. I felt kind of bad for eating and running out of there so quickly.

That night while Adam was at work Megan and I went to her friends Sheena and Matts' house and hung out. They had wanted to have a party but were unable to get all of their friends together so it was only Megan, me, Sheena, and her boyfriend Matt. We watched movies, drank margaritas and smoked. Later in the night we went to the convenient store to buy a frozen pizza but they didn't have any. I was pissed off that we had to buy these disgusting cubed turkey wraps which tasted horrible. At that point I kept wishing that I could eat Thanksgiving dinner all over again. Now that I don't live at home I can't even eat the leftovers cold and straight out of the refrigerator.

Megan called me early (around 6:30am) on Friday morning to go shopping, but I opted to stay in bed and sleep. "I'll just go by myself then. Call me later," she said. Later that afternoon I got a hold of her at my parents' house and we made plans to go out to dinner later that evening with two of her other friends.

When she dropped me off at my house after we had finished eating, we said goodbye until when she comes home for Christmas break which like I said, isn't that far away. I'll see her again soon, but I already miss her.

I didn't want to brave the shopping malls on Black Friday but I went on Saturday afternoon while Adam was shooting his pool match. I found myself a nice, new coat at the Gap and was able to buy Adam a coat as well for 50% off. I also bought about three sweaters that were each twenty dollars off from American Eagle. I found Adam a sweatshirt, a button down shirt with a collar that he likes, a track jacket, and another shirt from the same place. I also stocked up on boxers, socks and plain white t-shirts for Adam at Bon Ton. Other than that, I didn't really buy too much. I could hardly find anything that I liked for myself which was probably good because I shouldn't have even been spending any money in the first place. I think of it as a good investment though because I needed a new jacket and sweaters (most of mine shrunk in the wash) and Adam always needs new clothes because he never goes shopping. The only new things he ever gets is when I go shopping for him.

When I got back to the pool match I found out that his team won. Now they have nine wins and two losses I think. At the end of the season they should place in the top five.

We only played two games of cards on Saturday night. We each lost both games so we were forty bucks in the hole. I was disappointed because we usually do a lot better than that. However, I guess I can't win all of the time.

Yesterday we spent the day relaxing and watching football and now it's Monday again. Tomorrow I am forcing myself to get up when Adam goes to work and look for a new job. I am getting so bored sitting at home with nothing to do. I never thought I'd say it, but I am ready to go back to work! I hope everyone had a really nice Thanksgiving. Have a good week too!

missdahling at 3:41 pm