Thursday, Sept. 22, 2005

Staying For Awhile

I met Liz at her house yesterday evening after I got off work. We chose to eat Italian that night. We smoked cigarettes and talked about life and relationships while our food was being cooked. From her, I found out that Nicole and Matt might not have a relationship anymore. He broke up with her and told her that when they move out in a few weeks, she is going to have to find another place to live. I don't know if it's going to be forever this time or not. Also, Ana's boyfriend was kicked out of rehab. His piss test came up hot because he took some kind of pain reliever pill; he doesn't know what, from his friend to help his foot stop hurting. I guess Ana was flipping out; 'why would you take a fucking pill when you don't even know what it is?!' She doesn't need to be put through all this stress. I really hope everything works out for the best for all of my friends.

Liz's ex boyfriend has been inviting her to hang out a lot lately, but she hasn't gone. She doesn't have feelings for him anymore, but they still talk on occasion and are still friendly towards one another. Two years ago, he started giving people tattoos from his house, then it gradually grew into a business. He now owns his own tattoo and piercing parlor. Both of my tattoos are from him. Liz and I hung out there for a few hours last night. We watched him fix a tattoo that a guy had gotten from someone else and didn't like how it looked. It took awhile and the tattoo wasn't even finished when the guy left so that was the only work we got to see him do last night. Before he started tattoing he worked in a hospital. Last night, we watched him be a doctor and take a guy's stitches out of his knee. It's weird because he has always excelled in anything he's ever done whether it be when he had the job at the hospital, or tattooing, or sports, etc. He's either good at a lot or a really good bullshitter. I'm thinking the latter.

He convinced me to look through the tattoo books last night because he is absolutely certain that I need another one. I saw a few that were cute, but none that really caught my eye. If I were to get another one I'd want it to be like the two I already have; in another place on my body where it would sort of be unnoticeable. That way, if I get sick of them years down the road, at least I can cover them up. I do want another tattoo, but I'm having trouble deciding what I want it to be, and where to get it. A tattoo on my foot might be nice, but I don't know. I'm going to have to think about this one for awhile.

After we finally left the tattoo parlor and were back at Liz's house, we sat around her kitchen table and ate chips and salsa. Heather called which got me really excited about her coming home to visit. She talked to Liz and I on speaker phone while she did her laundry for her trip home. We talked about all the fun we are all going to have when she is here visiting. We made plans to go out the on Sunday night; her first night back. Even though I have to work at 8:30 the next morning, I'm still going to welcome her home. It might be one of the only times I'll get to see Heather by myself (well, with Liz too) the entire time she's here. Most of the time when we go out, it's going to be in a big group. It's so weird to think that she now lives all the way on the west coast and has a completely different life. It's also going to be strange because I'm going to think she's here to stay even though I know in the back of my mind, I know she has to go back to Cali at the end of next week. It's crazy that I haven't seen her in a little under a year.

Adam went out last night and I went home and fell asleep by myself. Usually it takes me awhile to fall asleep when he's not there, but I was probably still getting over my sickness just a little bit so I fell asleep almost right away. I hate sleeping alone. It's something I've always hated. I can remember when I still lived with my parents and I used to lay in my bed for hours and hours, tossing and turning until I'd be able to finally fall asleep. I used to think I had sleep insomnia, but I proved that theory false when I'd stay with Adam at his apartment or stay with other guys I was seeing at the time. All I'd have to do was shut my eyes and I'd be sleeping within seconds. I think it's because it makes me feel safer when I have someone else next to me.

This morning while I was at work, Adam went to talk with our landlord. He bargained with him, gave him a few hundred dollars and made a promise to pay our rent on time from now on. Last night on the phone when Adam proposed this idea to him, the landlord didn't say yes and didn't say no either. But it turns out that our landlord really wants to work with us and agreed to what Adam proposed to him. I am really, really, really glad he agreed! Yes, I want to move, but not at this time. We weren't ready to move in the time we were allotted. It would have been entirely too rushed. So, we are staying at our current place until our lease is up in March. I am relieved, happy and a lot less stressed out. Thank you to everyone who left me kind notes about the situation too. It was not easy to write about and I really appreciate everyone who was supportive. Thanks again!

missdahling at 2:35 pm