Tuesday, Aug. 30, 2005

Schedule Changes

I'm going to have to adjust my sleeping pattern a bit. For the past year and a half or so I've been sleeping in until noon or later, work for eight hours, and would then stay up until the early hours of the morning; go to bed anywhere from 3 am - 7 am. A lot of changes have taken place recently at work. The office is no longer open in the evenings, it closes at five pm. Therefore, I now work dayshift from 8:30 am until 5 pm four days a week and three or four hours two other days a week. I have to work on Saturdays. That is a big difference for me.

Yesterday was my first day working my new hours. I was so tired yesterday evening after work that I went home and took a nap for a few hours. Then I got something to eat, watched tv for awhile and then went back to sleep for another hour or so until Adam came home. I slept for another 2 hours, then got up to start my day. As of now I can't really determine whether or not I'm tired. I don't feel it, but this time yesterday I didn't feel it either. It wasn't until I got home when I started feeling sleepy. I need to change my routine. Once I do, I'm sure I'll get used to it.

This Sunday Adam's work schedule changes as well. He'll be working eight hour shifts and only eight hour shifts. Some days he'll be done by 11 pm and other days he works night shift from 11 pm - 7 am. That aspect of it sucks but at least he won't have to working 11 - 14 hour shifts anymore. To compensate for losing hours his boss gave him a pretty nice raise. At least when he gets off at 11 we will have a little bit of time to spend together. At first I was worried that we'd never see each other with these changes, but now I'm at ease. Sure, we'll see each other a little less, but it shouldn't affect our relationship which is mainly what I was concerned about.

Because I'll be off work so early now, I am really considering getting a second job. I could work maybe two or three evenings during the week to make some extra money. I wouldn't want any hours on the weekend because 1.) I already have to work Saturday mornings which is bad enough and 2.) I's get burned out from working possibly seven days a week. With my hours going back up at the job I have now, plus a second job, I'd be making a decent amount of money. Getting caught up and ahead on bills and other things would be a hell of a lot easier, not to mention that Christmas is right around the corner. If I don't like the other job, or feel that it's getting to be too much, I could quit after a few months. I'm at least going to put in applications at different places just to see which places call back.

Perhaps when I do get all my bills caught up I can then concentrate on going back to school in the evenings. I could have gotten a second job and went to school with my old schedule but that wasn't happening. Not with the way I used to sleep in every day. At least now I will be up and active early and won't feel like my day is wasted. I just have to get used to being up that early. Once I get used to it, I think I'll really like this schedule because it gives me a lot more options.

missdahling at 3:48 pm