Monday, Jul. 11, 2005

-

Me: "So what do you want for your birthday?"

Adam: "I told you, I don't want anything. Save your money."

Me: "There has to be something you'd like...."

Adam: "Seriously, Jenn, don't buy me anything. I can't really think of anything I want. Just like, make me a good meal or something."

Me: (laughs uproariously) "Actually, I'd rather buy you something! You know that I'm not much of a cook."

While I was at work on Saturday I ordered him a Texas Hold'em table top. It is oval shaped, 33" by 66", and seats 8 people. According to the description, it is supposed to fit almost any table; kitchen, or picnic. It was only about $60.00 and shipping was free. I priced them on numerous sites on the internet and all of the tabletops were about the same price. Because I thought they'd be more expensive, I hope I didn't get something that is really shitty. In addition to the table top, I ordered him lighters that are made from poker chips. Today, I recelived confirmation that my orders were shipped out yesterday. Hopefully they will get here by Thursday, the day of his actual birthday.

To go along with the poker theme, I might also purchase another set of poker chips. We could use more of them because when the blinds go up to 50 and 100, there aren't enough extra chips to cash in to replace the ones that are worth 10 and 20. I wanted to get him clay chips, but unfortunatly, I can't afford them right now.

When he asked me to cook him a dinner, my immediate response was to laugh my ass of, which I did for about five whole minutes. Me, cook? I don't know how, and I don't think I'd like it. I've never made a meal in my entire life, but I'm actually thinking about doing it. Would it be okay to cook on a George Foreman grill instead of using a regular stove? My stove has never been used since we moved into our place and that was almost four months ago already. Also, what could I make that would be rather easy , but taste good? In the past I've thought about cooking but never took the initiative and actually did it. I should do this though. I really should.

For some reason, this birthday of Adam's is significant. Who would have thought age 24 would be a significant number, right. It's probably because I met him five years ago this month. Five years, then in a blink of an eye it will be 10, then 15, then 20.....

missdahling at 5:25 pm