Monday, Jun. 20, 2005

Father's Day

Yesterday afternoon I played in a Texas Hold'em Tournament held at the bar Adam's works at. It was the biggest tournament that I've ever played in. First, there were about four separate, small tables with about seven people at each of them. As soon as there were three people left playing at each small table, they consolidated into one big table. Then, those people battled it out. I didn't do very well at all. I didn't make it to the big table, but Adam did so I was glad about that even though he knocked me out of the tournament. He kept raising and I kept calling him despite the fact that I only had two pair. It was a novice move on my part, but usually when we play, he raises and doesn't have shit. I played the losers in a side game and ended up taking second place out of about eight people. It was fun, I just wish I were a better player. I am learning though.

After the card game, we went to my parents' house to visit my dad for Father's Day. I had asked my mom if he needed anything, but she the only thing he needed was socks for work. That's not fun. I like buying people fun gifts. I didn't get him anything because of lack of time and money. Plus, he is the absolute hardest person to buy a gift for. He doesn't need anything, doesn't really have many hobbies and never asks for anything. That's how my dad is and I love him anyway. We had a really good dinner. The meal consisted of steak, baked potatoes, salad and apple crisp for dessert. Still, whenever I go for meals there it's always a little strange because Megan is away at college. I'm just so used to her being there and eating with us. My mom and I did the dishes while my dad and Adam sat in the livingroom and talked. We didn't stay very long after dinner, but I will be seeing my parents this Saturday because a friend of the family is getting married.

Adam suggested that we go miniature golfing after dinner. So after we left my parents', we went home, then headed to the course. I've only ever been to this course a few times before so I wasn't used to it. I didn't have any hole in ones like I did last time we mini golfed and neither did Adam. I started out golfing really good, but when I got to towards the end, I started to suck. At least he didn't beat me as bad as he did last time though. This time only a few strokes separated the win from the lose.

After work Liz and I are hanging out. I missed her. Haven't seen her in over a week.

missdahling at 10:02 pm