Thursday, Apr. 28, 2005

Eggs and Toast

I woke up this morning at 7 am and had a hard time falling back asleep. Adam ended up waking up as well, so we did what we always do when we wake up at that time; went out for breakfast. I stepped outside and let the sunlight hit me as the slightly cool air ran through me. "Looks like it's going to be a nice day today,"Adam said. We had the radio on in the car so we listened to the eighth grade boy testing out his DJ'ing skills. It was career day at a local middle school. I remember those days. As we were driving to the restaurant, we passed buses driving kids to school, saw teenagers picking up friends for school, and I noticed a lot of people traveling to work. I rejoiced that I was no longer in school and that I didn't have to be to work for a couple more hours.

There were quite a few people eating breakfast when we walked in and a lot of them were regulars. The waitresses were joking around with all the customers while they were eating their food. Some were reading the newspaper. Adam and I sat down at the table we always sit at when we eat there. I ordered my usual two eggs and toast and one piece of french toast, then Adam placed his order. I gazed over at him from across the table as we both puffed on our cigarettes. It's simple, little moments like that when I love him the most. The ones that are insignificant, yet special for the mere fact that we're together. After the week we've had, and after talking everything out, I love him even more today than I did last week, last year, etc. We have our hard times, but we get through them.

It wasn't until our food came that I realized I forgot to order my two eggs scrambled. They came sunny side up. Bleh. I managed to choke down one, but couldn't handle the other. I hate eggs prepared that way. My french toast was especially good this morning though. We ate in silence, but kept giving each other looks of adoration. We're back to normal and we didn't even need words to recognize it.

When we got home, I put pajamas back on and crawled into bed. "Goodnight Adam. I love you," I mumbled. "I love you too baby,"he said. The kitten, Black Panther was resting at my feet as I drifted off into a peaceful slumber. I fell asleep rather quickly this morning too. And for the first time in days, I did not have any disturbing dreams. None that I can recall at least. So I slept for another four hours or so, not waking up once.

It was chillier this afternoon than it was at 7:30 this morning. The wind was blowing around more which made the temperature seem lower that it actually was. Tonight, work is going by rather quickly. It's already 8 pm and it seems like I just got here. Highly unusual. I was informed today that one of our employees who works at another branch of our company was busted by the cops last night for running a meth lab from inside his home. I guess you just never know with people ... how fucked up is that! I was a little shocked. I'm assuming that he will no longer be working for us.

I'm debating whether to go home and fold laundry, wash dishes and clean tonight, or wait until another time. I'm thinking the chores will wait until the weekend. Adam works dayshift on Saturday so I'll have plenty of time to catch up on all of that then. Tonight, I will relax since I have to wake up early tomorrow. Have a good night everyone.

missdahling at 8:14 pm