Wednesday, Jul. 25, 2007

1 month

Olivia and I have spent the past two days at my mom and dad's house because Adam has been working non stop. He had to stay overnight in Jersey on Monday because he didn't finish his route within the alotted time. Last night he got home around 8pm but had to go back again at 2am. This job is stressing him out big time lately, but the money is good so he is sticking with it.

It is kind of nice being at my parents' house because they fuss so much over Olivia that it gives me a little break at least for a few hours. Usually during the week I pretty much do it all myself. Adam will spend maybe an hour or two with her each evening after work during the week, but I cannot expect him to care for her after he has worked for 15 plus hours and only gets on average five hours of sleep per night.

The first few nights with Olivia were a little restless, but as time is passing, she is getting a lot better. The sleep intervals are longer now. For the past few nights, she has been sleeping anywhere from four and a half to five hours; getting up to eat, then going back to sleep anywhere from three and a half to four hours. It is getting easier each day, but I am a little worried about how things will go when I go back to work in just two weeks. For now, I'm just trying not to think about it.

I cannot believe my baby is a month old today. Where did the summer go? She has grown so much just in the past month. Her legs, arms and face are filling out and she is a lot more alert and active now too. Her head and neck are so much stronger. I don't worry so much about 'breaking' her now as opposed to when she was only like, two days old.

She is a good baby; only cries when she is hungry or wants held. However, she is spoiled because she wants held ALL the time; even at night when it is time to put her in her crib. She will wake up and want held as soon as I lay her down. It is getting to the point where I have to let her cry a little, but that doesn't seem to be working either. How do I get her to sleep in her crib?

My first 'baby', which is our 8 month old English bulldog named Chanel is getting used to the fact that there is a very small person around the house who is getting more attention than her. We try to pay as much attention to Chanel as we can, but it's sometimes hard.

Adam and I still enjoy playing cards, but have been taking turns each week watching the baby if we cannot get one of the grammys to babysit. They are usually willing though. They know and understand that it's nice to have a few hours of 'adult time'. From here on out Adam and I will not be getting much of that. Our 'real' days of drinking and gambling ended on June 27th, 2007, but we would not have it any other way.

missdahling at 2:20 pm