Monday, Feb. 20, 2006

Three Trips In One Day

Finally, job training is officially over. Those two weeks just seemed to fly by. I cannot believe that tomorrow is my first day of work at my branch. I am both excited and nervous at the same time. Please, wish me luck. Pray that I don't get robbed my first day on the job because lately, that is just my luck.

Speaking of unlucky .... here's a good one. On Thursday after seven hours of job training, I returned back to my hotel, switched on the tv and turned it to the Food Network Channel. As my mouth was salivating over the delicious looking italian food that Gianna was making, my eyelids began to get heavy as they usually do when I watch cooking shows. I don't know what it is about them, but for some reason, I find them really soothing when I am trying to fall asleep. That is weird, I know. For awhile, I fell asleep, awaiting Adam's arrival.

When I woke up, the sun had gone down and I was a bit disoriented. For a moment, I had to think about where I was and why I was waking up in a strange place. Still half asleep, I glanced at the clock which read five twenty pm. I knew that Adam would be getting there very shortly so I quickly brushed my hair and teeth to make myself look a bit more presentable and woke myself up the best I could. It was tough though because that day, we had done lots of transactions and learned some things too. It had been a long day.

My heart leapt when I heard the knock on the door to my room. I jumped off the bed, unlocked the door and let Adam in. We gave each other a kiss and a big hug; it was one of those hugs where you never want to let go. We finally did let go, only to cling one to each other again very shortly afterwards while we were laying on the bed. That was the first we had had sex in such a long time. The week before I was away at training as well, but we fought the entire week so there was no kind of physical interaction at all. It was great not fighting anymore. I had missed him so much.

For dinner, we went out for pizza where we both ordered the salad bar. I ordered breadsticks while Adam chose to eat spaghetti and meatballs. I made my salad too huge and wasn't able to finish all of my breadsticks. Adam was also very full from the spaghetti when we walked out of there.

We sat in the car for a moment, letting our stomachs digest and each smoked a cigarette. All the while I was thinking how great it was to have him there with me. I was really giddy, and that night it felt like things did when you first meet someone or when you've only had a few dates with a person. There were butterflies in my stomach, my heart was racing, and I kept looking at him adoringly.

Him and I went on an after dinner burn run through the country then. It was the first time I've smoked in a few weeks and I could feel the weed after merely two or three hits. Everything became hazy and I was able to forget about my job training, financial issues, etc. All I concentrated on was the land around me, the music that was blasting through the speakers of my car, and Adam, who was behind the wheel. We drove up and down all of these twistly roads that were surrounded by fields and open space.

As soon as we hit a few red lights we turned around and headed back to my hotel. Going through town stoned was so much different than going through town sober. At one point, I remember thinking that the town looked exactly like the one where I live in. Of course the next morning I wondered why the hell I thought that because it looks nothing like it.

All week long I had been doing so well with waking up early, but on Friday morning, I didn't want to get out of bed. I told Adam to reset the alarm for eight o'clock which enabled me to be able to sleep another forty five minutes. Adam left around eight thirty which allowed him enough time to get to work. I was out the door at quarter of nine, after I had packed the rest of my belongings into my suitcase and duffel bag. I made sure that I had everything before I went to the front desk to check out.

My plan was to then put my suitcase and bag in the car, then come back inside the hotel and eat a quick breakfast. Outside, standing by my car, is when I realized that I did not have my car keys! I pulled the car door handle and surprisingly, it opened. I put my stuff inside and searched my car for my keys. I had no luck finding them unfortunatly. We must have forgotten to lock my car after our burn run the night before and Adam must have stuck the keys to my car into his coat pocket and forgot to take them out. "Mother fucker," I cried. "What the fuck am I going to do?!"

Back inside, I went to the front desk to ask if anyone had left a set of car keys for me. I knew he hadn't, but I just thought that I'd check anyway. In order for me to get to my class, I had to call another girl who was in training with me and she came to my hotel and picked me up. She was sympathetic and said,"This was a bad day for it to happen too." It was true because that day, we had our finaly examination. We had to do about seventy transactions, plus a written test. Luckily, the test and transactions hadn't started yet because our instructor was giving us an hour to review.

Later that morning, during a checking deposit transaction, I heard my phone vibrate. I knew it had to be Adam so I excused myself and went into the hall to answer my phone. The first words out of his mouth were,"I'm so sorry!" haha. Quickly, so I could get back to work, he told me that he was going to leave work at two so he would be there just as my training ended at four. We agreed to meet at Subway.

After my last day of training, Amber dropped me off at Subway and I went inside to where Adam was sitting. He was eating a sub with a very tired look on his face. I smiled, laughed a little and said,"Hey." With a big sigh, he said,"Hey." We talked about how we both couldn't belive he did that. Adam talked about how he couldn't believe how calm I was being. He thought I was going to be furious about the situation but I wasn't. I said,"It just sucks for you because you're the one who had to make an extra trip."

On the drive home, I followed behind him the entire way; me in my car, and Adam in my sister's car that my parents let him borrow for the two weeks I was at training. It seemed like such a long drive even for me; I can't even imagine how long it must have felt for Adam.

We were both exhausted when we got home but that night, we returned my sister's car back to my parents. Adam and I ate dinner there, visited for awhile, then finally got home and just crashed. What a day ... I don't think we will ever forget that.

missdahling at 9:19 pm