Tuesday, Jan. 03, 2006

First Entry of 2006 !

This was the first New Year's eve that I didn't get plastered to the point where I was almost comatosed. In fact, I didn't have even one sip of alcohol that night. Earlier that same day Adam and I went to his grandparents' house to do a load of laundry because I was preparing to go to Philadelphia the next day with my mom, dad and sisters to visit my mother's side of the family who lives about twenty minutes outside of north Philly. While the laundry was in the washer, Adam and I picked up subs and brought them back to his grandparents' house and ate with them. For awhile, we visited with them, chit chatting about nothing in particular until our medium sized load of laundry was washed and dried.

Next, we went home to relax a bit before we met our friends to celebrate the holiday. Normally, on New Year's eve I like to have a night of debauchery, talk to random drunken people, and down shot after shot, after shot while loud music throbs in the background. Last year Adam and I stayed home and got drunk off of eggnog while playing Tiger Woods. This year we had something a little more exciting planned, but not too much more exciting. We made plans to get together with our friends who we play cards with almost every Saturday night. That was fine with me though. As I get older, I'm finding out that going out doesn't mean as much as it once had.

Adam and I were both high when we entered our friends' house. We had smoked about an hour and a half before we left but were still feeling the effects quite heavily. Everything was hazy as I walked around and checked out our friends new place. It was a nice place, your typical half a double house with a decent sized kitchen and livingroom. Adam told me later that the upstairs was nice too.

For me, it was like any other Saturday night except for that at midnight, the ball would drop and the year would no longer be 2005, but 2006. Somewhere during the middle of the first game of cards we played, I started getting light headed and kept having hot, then cold flashes. I kept dismissing it as the weed wearing off, but the strange feelings continued and suddenly I knew I was getting sick. Silently, I cursed Adam because he had been sick a few days earlier. Even though when he was sick I had tried to keep my distance from him, not drink after him, etc., I guess I had caught what he had anyways.

The two tylenol I took helped my fever and chills a bit, but I still was not feeling one hundred percent. I managed to make it through the first game of cards, then two more until I had had enough. I had to go home and sleep. I felt bad for leaving, but I just wasn't feeling well at all. Adam stayed while I drove home, shivering the entire way. I barely woke up when he came home and crawled into bed.

The following morning I had to call my mom and tell her that I wouldn't be able to go visit my family with them. I think she was disappointed, but I was too. I was looking forward to going with them because I haven't seen my grandfather for two years and I am really beginning to miss him as well as my aunts and uncles and cousins. I would have much rather visited them instead of laying in bed sleeping like I did that day.

By that night though I was feeling a lot better and wishing that I would have sucked it up and traveled to Philadelphia. I wondered what everyone was doing three hours south of me while I was stuck in my cruddy, little town with nothing to do except watch DVD's. For me, it was kind of a sucky New Year's, although it could have been a lot worse, I know. I cannot believe another whole year has gone by already. I wonder what 2006 has in store for me .....

missdahling at 3:58 pm