Thursday, May. 26, 2005

Taking His Manhood Away


Adam and I invited our friend John over to our house last night to play cards, drink a few beers, and smoke. He left after a game of 31, leaving Adam and I alone in the kitchen.

"I wish there were some way to tell him," Adam said sympathetically as we sat around the table looking over at our cat, Mr. Skins who was laying on the floor playing with one of his toys. Mr. Skins was playing innocently with his toys. The procedure that he would have to endure in the very near future was unbeknownst to him.

"Adam, think about it .... put yourself in his position. How do you tell someone something like that? There is no way to prepare anyone for what he will go through tomorrow morning," I said half laughing, half wishing there actually was some way that he could apprehend what we were talking about.

As Adam and I headed upstairs Mr. Skins followed us closely behind. I sat on the edge of the bed and watched Adam set up the Playstation 2 so we could play Grand Theft Auto. The cat jumped up onto my lap so I pet him while he purred away happily. It was then that I could tell he knew something wasn't quite right. He hadn't sat with me like that since he was a very small kitten. He was being too friendly, almost as if to say 'Hey! Look how nice and cute I am! You can't do harm to me!'

Inbetween beating people up and stealing cars (Grand Theft Auto) I kept glancing over at Skins who seemed a little too friendly for his usual self. "Adam, look how cute he is! Doesn't he look extra cute tonight?" I asked wondering to myself whether or not I could bring myself to take him to the vet in the morning. I was seriously contemplating cancelling his appointment until I thought of our other kitten, Panther and realized what needed to be done.

This morning when the alarm went off at 6:45am I still wanted to pick up my cell and cancel Skin's appointment. Part of it was because it was incredibly early for me and the other part, well, I just felt so bad for Mr. Skin's. Reluctantly, I pulled myself out of bed.

"Meow meow meoooooooow." That's all we heard on the way to the veterinarian's. Monseiur looked scared as he cowered inside his pet carrier. He and another cat in the reception area kept meowing back and forth to one another while I filled out paper work. Maybe he can make some friends while he's there.

I carried Monsieur Skins in his pet carrier, following Adam and the vet's assistant into the room where the cats were kept. I placed the pet carrier on a small table and opened the door. He jumped down, onto the floor but I quickly scooped him up to prevent him from escaping any further. The claws came out just as I was placing him in the very small cage with the too small litter box. I was thinking,"He needs a bigger space. He won't like being caged up like this..." I took one last glance at him as I headed out the door into the lobby area.

This afternoon I called the vet's office to see how he was doing. The vet told me that everything went well but he was still a little woozy. I think anyone would be under the weather after having their nuts cut off. She told me he was resting up and can come home to us tomorrow morning. Adam and I are going to buy him toys and treats to try and compensate for the fact that he might hate us for life. heh.

missdahling at 9:03 pm