Wednesday, Jun. 08, 2005

Birthdays

I have no reason to be stressed, but I am. That's what work does to me when it's so busy that I barely have time to breath in between taking phone calls. No sooner do I hang up the phone when I have to pick it right back up. I feel like I should be in the movie 'Office Space'. The atmosphere is similiar. Work is hell, but next month is going to be the hell below hell. One co-worker is going on maternity leave, another is quitting, and one is having a hip replacemnt. Plus we have people going on vacations in. We're understaffed as it is so when 3/4 of our staff is out next month, the ones left are going to be working twice, or three times as hard. God help me.

Gina (a co-worker), who is head of human resources here informed me today that I have 7 vacation days left to use before the middle of July. If they are not used I get those days paid to me. After they expire I get new ones until next July. With that in mind, I put in a time off request for the 30th of this month and the first of July. Hopefully they will get approved because Megan is having her birthday party on the 30th in Philadelphia. I really want to go down, not only to see Megan, but to see Jaquolyn too. I miss them both so much.

Is it weird to not be excited about my best friend's 21st birthday that is coming up on Saturday night? I feel mean, like I'm a horrible friend or something. I hate pretending to be excited about it, but that's what I'm doing. I have to camoflauge my lack of enthusiasm because I don't want her to be hurt even though it has nothing to do with her. To be quite honest, I don't even know why I'm not excited. I know that I should be. I turned 21 a year and a half ago but have been going to the bars since before then. It's not as enthralling as it was then. I sort of feel like, been there, done that, let's move on. I go to the bars to drink but the whole 21st birthday thing .... I feel as though I'm past that. I'm only 22, but I feel much older than someone just celebrating their 21st.

This weekend I suggested to Adam that we go away. No matter how much I don't want to go out on Saturday night, I know that I have to. I have to be at the preparty or the bar. I've gotta go to one. Sunday would be a good day to get away. Then I'd have an excuse not to be out too late the night before. Besides, neither Adam, nor I will have very much money so a day trip may be all we can afford. He wants to go to an amusement park which we will have to travel about 5 hours in order to get there. Is it worth driving that far for only a day though? Maybe we could afford to stay over one night, then leave immediatly Monday morning so we would be back in time to work. I don't know yet. I'll have to talk to Adam about it tonight.

I know that my weekend will be better than I'm anticipating. I shouldn't complain so much.

missdahling at 8:16 pm